Meditation Techniques: How To Meditate For Beginners

beginnners meditation

serene meditation technique

Meditation is a technique that has been used for thousands of years to bring upon many benefits including, relaxation, health benefits such as lowering cortisol levels (stress hormone), finding the God and peace within yourself. Meditation is about more than just quieting the mind (which takes years of practice for most people to achieve anyway), it’s about being aware. Meditation is a safe haven. It is a blessing from God because it shows us at any given moment, no matter how much stress and chaos is going on, there’s a quiet still place you can go in, within yourself. Some people call this place the true Self, some call it the spirit and others call it God.

How To Meditate

There are plenty of meditation techniques that can be used. These are 4 of the meditation techniques that I have received the most benefits from.

1. Focusing On Your Breath

Focusing on your breathing is one way to meditation technique. You try to relax and let go. Accept the fact that thoughts are going to come to your mind, unless you are at one of the higher levels of meditation. But be aware of those thoughts. For example this thought may come past your mind,”Gosh what am I going to cook for dinner.” Now it’s okay to be aware of that thought but don’t entertain it. Let the thoughts pass by. Focus on your breath and slowly breathe in through your nose and out through your mouth.

2. Mantra Meditation

Another meditation technique is the mantra meditation. A mantra is a phrase you repeat in your mind and focus on. In the eastern religions they have mantras that are repeated in a different language and is said to be superior to doing an English mantra. For me personally, I have gotten equal results with both. You can create any mantra. One of my mantras is “relax and let go.” Another is “I honor the divinity within me.” In this meditation you also relax and then you focus on saying your mantra. You slowly repeat your mantra, breathing in through your nose and out through your mouth.

3. Walking Meditation

I  particularly like this meditation technique. It allows me to meditate on the go. I have a 20 minute walk to school and I practice this meditation either one of two ways. One way is to be present of all the things around me. I live in a pretty decent neighborhood and I have neighbors who plant nice gardens out front. But for all long time I missed all the beautiful flowers. So when I walk I try to be conscious and aware of all that is around me. Which is something you need to do when outside anyway. I make it a goal not to miss the flowers, which is also symbolic of all the beauty I miss everyday in life, when I walk around unconscious.

4. Awareness Meditation

Awareness meditation can be done many ways. For me I just allow myself to be aware of as much as I can. True consciousness is aware of a broad amount of things at once. So I start of focusing on my breath, than expand it to my heart beat, my pulse and keep expanding to other parts of my body. I try to be aware of all these things at once. Then I expand it to the things around me. I try to be conscious of as much as I can at once. It is a good practice since society teaches us to focus on one thing, which can be useful at times. But true consciousness is broad. Awareness is just aware. It is endless.

meditation for beginners

meditation awareness

These are the different meditation techniques that can be used. Have fun practicing.

September 17, 2013. Positive Thinking and The Law Of Attraction.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Please leave a comment or I will cry. Thank you.

Trackback URI

